Personal bias

Prompt ~

PHOTO PROMPT -Copyright-Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Copyright-Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The world is an entirely different place to the man of five foot seven from what it is to the man of six foot two – it is in crowds that I truly appreciate the perspicacity of Maugham.

The taller men blocked my view and the really short obstructed my way. The short-lady I was following vanished in to one of the entrances and peering in to the many windows I detected my wife in a duologue with +6-footer. This would save me some money.

Pushed, I reached home and found my wife in a mud-face-mask.

I regretted my amateurish prejudice.

Words   ~ 100

 

 

1

Thanks for the prompt Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. SHALOM.

 

 

16 thoughts on “Personal bias

  1. Maybe your narrator should spend some money on glasses to he is able to recognise his wife, although I’m not sure what sort of spectacles he’d need to combat blind prejudice. Well told.

    • Thank you, Sarah.

      Actually the narrator is a detective and is going through a bad patch in his marriage …… he is so preoccupied with his problem that he is seeing his wife everywhere …… Hence he regrets his amateurish work when he finds his wife at home.
      I should have been more explicit in my narration.

  2. Dear Yarnspinner, I am tall (at least I was 5’8″ when I was 20. Now, I’ve shrunk an inch. There are good things to being tall and not-so-good. Love your story and he needs to get his eyes checked so as not to accuse an innocent woman thinking she is unfaithful. Really interesting perspective of yours. Good point of view! Nan 🙂

  3. I enjoyed reading this, but I have to say, your additional back story in a comment above put a different spin on it when I read it again. Fascinating how a little detail here and there can skew the whole course of the story!

I love arguments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.