The old tree.

From Scott Vanatter with permission-Copyrigh-  Indira

Copyright- Indira

The tree was in shock. All those who inhabited it had forsaken it.

One day, a few years ago, a Yogi had come and started meditating under its dense branches.  His energized chakras and sympathetic nervous system excited the tree, till both vibrated at same frequency. The tree could now think with the Yogi’s mind. The tree had evolved to human stage and all the birds, insects and little animals sensed this and fled.

Flowing waters and Yogis keep moving. The Yogi left.  The tree was vegetable again. It had lost its capacity of thought.

It suffered from dysautonomia.

words <100
1
Enhanced by Zemanta
36 thoughts on “The old tree.

  1. I can honestly say I didn’t see the one coming at all. Reminds me of our visit to the Rubin Museum in NYC last weekend as they have Himalayan art, maybe even something from this yogi or from the tree. 🙂

    My question is: why are you yarnspinner but your gravatar is Aesop Clerk? (I get that they’re both tales/yarns, but there must be something else there.)

    janet

  2. Hi Yarnspinner
    interesting tale – a tree in shock! I loved the line about Yogis and flowing waters.
    I had to look up dysautonomia (and am having trouble spelling it, but I think I got there!), so you taught me a new word!
    Now all I have to do is use it in a sentence….

    • Thank You.

      This was inspired by ……..

      I died as a mineral and became a plant,
      I died as plant and rose to animal,
      I died as animal and I was Man.
      Why should I fear? When was I less by dying?
      Yet once more I shall die as Man, to soar
      With angels blest; but even from angelhood
      I must pass on: all except God doth perish.
      When I have sacrificed my angel-soul,
      I shall become what no mind e’er conceived.
      Oh, let me not exist! for Non-existence
      Proclaims in organ tones, ‘To Him we shall return.’

      –Jalal ed-Din Rumi (1207-1273) Translated by A.J. Arberry

  3. This makes me think of a fable blended with spirituality. I was intrigued how the wildlife left the tree when the sensed how the tree had become in tune the with Yogi. This is a story that resonates after reading it.

    • Thank You for the interest.

      The tree was capable of thought with the yogi’s mind – thought is
      generally inimical to lower life forms ……. hence they were forced to fled.

  4. Pingback: Like the quality? « picturemypoetry

I love arguments

