Trifecta: Week Seventy-Two ~ Incomprehensible

This Trifectan prompt reminds me of something that happened more than 20 years ago.

I had recently graduated and sent applications for a few placements that were advertised. I had an interview in weeks time for a government job that could place me in any part of the country. I had never faced a interview and did not have any special skills. I was very apprehensive. My maternal uncle took me to a aulia (wise man/ mystic). I suspect my mother had instructed him.

The aulia was an old man living in a down town slum.  We sat down on floor mats and my uncle introduced me and explained the purpose of our visit.

The old man gave me a blank page and a fountain pen and asked me to write down whatever I wanted to know.

Once I finished writing he asked me to crumble the paper in to ball and then he took it from me and lighted it with a match stick.

Once the paper was completely burned he collected the ash and rubbed it on his palms. All this time he was concentrating hard and mumbling.

Then he opened his palms and blew off the ashes. I just sat and watched him.

Finally, the old man extended his open palms to me ……..

I could read  YES, NAGPUR (in hindi) on his palms.

I had written, Will I get the job and if yes where shall I be posted?

It was much later in life I realized that I had witnessed alchemy.  I believed it to be sleight of hand even after I got the job and was posted at Nagpur.

Athanasius Kircher a Jesuit scholar resurrected a rose from its ashes in the presence of the Queen Christina of Sweden in 1687. I have no idea if  Kircher or the rose told her about the  pneumonia that would result in her death in 1689.

Athanasius Kircher, a 17th-century German polymath

Athanasius Kircher, a 17th-century German polymath (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

words ~ 327

I was just a character and that too with a silent role in this yarn. YS.

22 thoughts on “Trifecta: Week Seventy-Two ~ Incomprehensible

I love arguments

