The transgenic bee!

http://rochellewisofffields.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/jennifer-pendergast.jpg

Copyright – Jennifer Pendergast

Dom was photoshop-ing a bee. I wondered why?

I: What’s that?

D: My presentation for the biotechnology grant.

I: How?

D: The newly assembled Bos taurus genome sequence allows the linkage of bovine milk and lactation gene cluster with other genomes.

I: What do you propose to do?

D: Incorporate a lactation-gene in to the bees.

I:

D: The bee will produce honey as well as milk.

I: But why?

D: Honey-milk shall be the super food of future and the bees will not spread Mad-cow disease.

I: Is there more?

D: One can ride them, thereby making air travel cheaper.

words ~ 100

1

Thanks & Shalom, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

28 thoughts on “The transgenic bee!

  1. You know you’re a scientist when you read something like this and find yourself nodding, and thinking, “Hey, that’s a great idea!” Call it a one-stop tea ingredient shop. πŸ™‚

  2. That could be fun to ride on a bee, but they’d have to come up with non-flower pocked flight lines. Else the bees would get distracted. Very fun, and interesting ideas!

  3. Very creative! I’m liking the transgenic bee idea! As to flight patterns, I wouldn’t mind occasionally stopping to pollinate some beautiful flowers…would be more concerned about falling off. Wheeee!

I love arguments

