Ligo Haibun Challenge ~ Political Pundits!

Prompt ~ Never was anything great achieved without danger  – Niccolo Machiavelli 

The depth of advice

directly relates to his

own experience

Two other names come to my mind whenever I read ‘The Prince’. Their thoughts are quite similar though they were born thousands of years apart. They suffered personally and as a result authored behavioral advisories for the rulers.

In 1513, the Medici accused Machiavelli of conspiracy against the Medici family and had him imprisoned. Despite having been subjected to torture he denied involvement and was released after three weeks. He then retired to his estate at Sant’ Andrea, and devoted himself to his  political treatise.

Chanak’s family was harassed by the king  unjustly. He was put in the prison where he died. Vishnuputa (better known as Chanakya)  a young boy at that time (350 -275 BC) was emotionally affected. His life was in danger and he had to flee Pataliputra. He went on to write Chanakya Neeti.

The thirty-year rule of Pharaoh Amenemhat-I ended with his murder nearly 2000 years before Christ. This happened when his co-regent and son Senusert was out and the murder was conspired in the harem of Amenemhat-I. He left behind a papyrus for his son called‘ The Instruction of Pharaoh Amenemhat-I to his son Pharaoh Senusret-I’ that speaks in the same vein as Chanakya and Machiavelli

Machiavelli,

Chanakya, Amenemhat

victims of ill will

Words <220

9044456ligo_circle_of_appreciation2


10 thoughts on “Ligo Haibun Challenge ~ Political Pundits!

  1. Very interesting – you pull me to discover more, which I enjoy very much, and will be googling the aforementioned For a while I was interested in Zoroaster, and find the eras you mention of particular interest, and yes, the danger is clearly there. Well done.

  2. I enjoy watching the history channel and while not familiar with all the figures you write about – you do want me to investigate them more. In all times there are rulers who feel threatened by those who they perceive as threats. Some are lucky to live while others not so much. And yet we tend to remember those victims because they had clear voices that would not be silenced.

    I add my thanks for your sharing of history in the haibun form. I sort of did that too, this week…but in a broader sense. Cheers.

I love arguments

