Just like me!

Prompt ~

Copyright-John Nixon

Copyright-John Nixon

This is I and I am the wood in the furniture and décor.

She sits at the bar on a three-legged stool. Our legs caress. She is wearing a red wool coat and smokes a cigarette as she sips a cocktail. I brace myself for the searing pain – there is no ashtray in sight.

She glances my way and admires the forest of medusan-trees  hanging on the wall.

She walks through me and her scarf brushes my polished surface as I stand guarding the marble-tiled restroom.

She smells like ripe cherries. I smell of wood polish. Beneath her animality she is just like me.

Words  <105


1

Thanks for the prompt Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. SHALOM.


51 thoughts on “Just like me!

  1. medusan-trees. i like that. this was a really amazing response to the prompt. you always manage to pull off these very different and interesting responses. 🙂

  2. I need to acknowledge you for your ability to use simple words to draw powerful visuals. What jumped out at me was this almost carelessly articulated sentence of yours, “She walks through me and her scarf brushes my polished surface as I stand guarding the marble-tiled restroom.”

    So, how could you have continued this post?

    Shakti

  3. What a thought-provoking connection you drew between human and tree. I greatly enjoyed sharing in the wood’s contemplation, as it widened my perspective of the human-nature bond. Wonderful post!

  4. Dear Yarnspinner, I am not worthy to be in the same club you are. You are a Master Writer and I am so impressed where you took this prompt! Superior without question. I love the Medusan trees. Remember the song “I Am Music – and I Write the Songs . . .” What a wonderful work of art you have written – you are going places, truly you are! Thanks, Nan 🙂

  5. “I brace myself for the searing pain”-wow!Loved this unique take and the voice-you have the ability to turn the ordinary into extraordinary-am floored, YS 🙂

I love arguments

