Humanity Saved!

This is what I posted for the Apr 16, 2014 prompt. Thank You RWF for this unexpected holiday. Shalom.

Prompt ~

Copyright - Douglas M. MacIlroy

PHOTO PROMPT © Douglas M. MacIlroy
The FDCA team raided 27b. The whole street waited behind shut doors and peered through the many windows. The adjoining householders kept using their telepathic communicators to get the latest news.
The man in the odd helmet took swabs from different objects and inoculated the strips (that are  used as culture plates in current circa 2050).
A few samples were found positive for rhinoviruses. The lady at 27a who had reported the sneeze was lauded for her vigilance. The Kochs of 27b were declared a threat to the whole nation and quarantined for life.
The country was saved from common-cold.
Words  <100

FDCA~ Federal disease control Agency.

 

1

Thanks for the prompt Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. SHALOM.


36 thoughts on “Humanity Saved!

  1. It seems like we’ve got a long time to wait for this, based on the technology you mention. Having just recovered from one, though, I hope it’s not too long!
    Bit of concrit: I found the tenses a bit muddled “are now used” for example, when the rest is largely past tense.

    • Thanks for the read. This is not possible even in long term future. Till date we have just been able to control Polio and eradicate smallpox. Only the microbes responsible for most infectious diseases have become stronger.

      This was supposed to be a future scenario ……. hence the jumbling of tenses – Thanks, I will edit and try to correct them. 🙂

  2. They’ve come a long way, where common colds are the worst enemy. I wish they would take more precautions now against them, so I didn’t get sick so much from people coughing on me.

  3. Dear Yarnspinner, Wonderful story and something very similar may happen in the future. Good luck world if it does and I do think some brilliant chemist, or biologist will find a cure for all – the next thing is going to be a new anti-biotic. My grandmother died in 1939, 10 years before I was born, and she had a huge infection that killed her. Perhaps some day I can meet her, but for now, I have all these little munchkins running around. Have a good Easter Egg Day! Nan 🙂

  4. I can see that happening and I’m laughing at the neighbors all trying to see what’s going on. When I was growing up, we had neighbors who were always peering out to see what was going on. 🙂

    janet

  5. It reminds a little of how people were encouraged to spy on each other ad report them to the authorities in East Germany. This is a lot more light-hearted though! The common cold is indeed a terror…

I love arguments

