Duped and taxed

Prompt –

© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham

Finish the story begins with: “What a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive.”

What a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive. Seth had made a few billions selling the dream of respectability through spurious degrees to sons and daughters of neo-rich. Ironically a con-artist divested him of a few millions in recent past. One day he received a letter ………..

Dear Sir, I have accidentally deleted my account excel-sheet; and  I am worried as a law abiding citizen to compute my income – 31st July being the last date to file my income-tax return.

Kindly let me know the exact amount you have generously donated to my personal funds during 2014-2015? I shall appreciate if you could calculate the due tax and reimburse it to me.

I shall send a colleague to collect it from your office and hand you the requisite donation certificate so that you can claim tax rebate on it.  Sincerely ..  etc etc.

Seth shared his woe with his friends. They all applauded the honest con-man.

Words < 150

Mondays Finish the Story

https://mondaysfinishthestory.wordpress.com/2015/05/25/mondays-finish-the-story-may-25th-2015/
18 thoughts on “Duped and taxed

I love arguments

