Choosy

Prompt  ….

PHOTO PROMPT - © Marie Gail Stratford

PHOTO PROMPT – © Marie Gail Stratford

A hungry mouse shall opt for cheese over sex. I will now demonstrate this.

A Y-maze was set up. A male albino-rat waited to enter the maze; one of the maze arms led to a piece-of-cheese and the other to a female albino-rat. The Professor clicked the computer-mouse and the lab-rat rushed in to the maze and after rejecting the female,   finally found the cheese.

You see – the Professor beamed.

An unconvinced student asked the Professor to change the female-rat.

The lab-rat opted for the female.

The striped-mouse wished it was in maze.

Words < 100

1

Thanks for the prompt Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. SHALOM.

 

24 thoughts on “Choosy

  1. You started in the first line with a hungry mouse and then changed to albino rats.I think that’s what threw us readers off – and then back to a striped mouse. I would say I say a rat here – but it might just turn out be a mouse.

    Randy

  2. I understand how the first and last line go together. Cute.
    But now I’d like to comment on the experiment itself: If seems to me that changing the female rat had nothing to do with the male rat choosing the female the second time. Since he chose the cheese the first time, he had satisfied his hunger. The second time, he was no longer hungry, so naturally, he’d choose the female. I don’t think changing females had anything to do with it. (I also realize this has nothing to do with the point of your story, but I couldn’t resist throwing it in.)

    • Well put. However, in actual practice the rat is just allowed a nibble before the shutter falls …. so that three readings can be taken for the same rat.

      Thanks for the interest. 🙂

I love arguments

