Opportunity

Prompt –

© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham

Finish the story that begins with: “I watched the vulture looking at me hungrily as I lay on the ground bleeding and injured.”


I watched the vulture looking at me hungrily as I lay on the ground bleeding and injured. I was one of the commuters injured when the train crashed.
I just heard a loud bang. The coach flew forward and lost its balance. I fell to the floor and then rolled out of the coach as it took another somersault. There were people were crying screaming and bleeding everywhere.
It was a train robbery with a difference. Two policemen took away RS 15,000 from my pocket.After an eternity, I was rescued by locals and taken to a hospital.
Shocking tales of policemen rummaging through the blood-soaked pockets of passengers for cash as they squirmed in pain inside overturned and twisted train coaches have begun to emerge. The victims are grateful to the locals whose swift response helped save many lives.
The damage caused by the looters pale in comparison to the vultures – especially those sitting in the state headquarters supervising the rescue operation.

Words <150
Mondays Finish the Story
https://mondaysfinishthestory.wordpress.com/2015/10/26/mondays-finish-the-story-october-26th-2015/comment-page-1/#comment-1990
12 thoughts on “Opportunity

  1. It reaches the point of “who can you trust.” I’ve heard more than once of locals who helped people. Those well-paid “vultures” should be turned out of office. Well done, Yarnspinnerr. —- Suzanne

I love arguments

