Corporate cons

Prompt  ….

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Phylor. Thank you Phylor!

They say it used to be a train station. Now it is a high profile country club. However, I recognize it as a place where rights are denied.

Recollect Fred the fat, somnolent, breathless boy in Pickwick papers. My boss is a grown up and darker version of Fred who has been cured of his somnolence and is on one of those nebulizers that doctors prescribe to asthmatics. Talking with him – one expects him to take a puff and then continue. However, he enjoys good health.

The chap is a real friend. Last year, I was due for promotion but the boss did not forward my name. Instead, he invited me to lunch here.

Soon, he started shedding tears in to his gin – ‘Aesop, if I forward your name … I will not have any competent persons left in my section’, and then went on to enumerate the short comings of all my peers whom he had recommended for promotion.

‘Good riddance’ he closed the topic and tackled his lunch. 

Words ~170

Thank you Priceless Joy

 

6 thoughts on “Corporate cons

I love arguments

