Of two boatmen

I had a sense of déjà-vu when I saw this prompt. My muse goes AWOL on seeing this boat. Last year I took refuge in the myth of Charon – the ferryman of Hades for my post.

This time Sri Ram the Hindu deity rescued me. He is believed to be the seventh incarnation of the God Vishnu and is the central figure of the  epic Ramayana, the principal narration of the events connected to his life on earth.

Prompt  ….

PHOTO PROMPT - Copyright - Georgia Koch

PHOTO PROMPT – Copyright – Georgia Koch

Once across the river Sri Rama offered a ring to Kewat as fare.

Kewat declined, saying “People who practice the same occupation do not accept payment from each other.”

‘I do not understand your logic, Kewat. You are a boatman and I am a Prince. Please explain what occupation we both practice?’ asked Sri Ram

‘Sir, I ferry people across this narrow river on my humble boat and you ferry all people of this cosmos across the ocean of birth, death and rebirth. My Lord, we both are boatmen’

 Sri Rama smiled and liberated him from the eternal cycle.

Words ~ 99
PS~This is a reworded version of the event described in Ramayana.

 

1

Thanks for the prompt Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. SHALOM.

 

20 thoughts on “Of two boatmen

I love arguments

